Last Wednesday, the Senate Commerce Committee voted to advance President Biden’s nominees to fill the two open Republican Commissioner seats on the Federal Trade Commission: Andrew N. Ferguson and Melissa Holyoak.  The nominations, which were approved by a voice vote, will now be voted on by the full Senate. 

The Committee also unanimously advanced the renomination of current FTC Commissioner Rebecca Kelly Slaughter.  President Biden renominated Ms. Slaughter, a Democrat, to serve another seven-year term.

Mr. Ferguson currently serves as the Virginia Solicitor General.  He previously served as Chief Counsel to U.S. Senate Republican Leader Mitch McConnell from 2019 to 2021.  Before serving as Leader McConnell’s Chief Counsel, Mr. Ferguson served as Chief Counsel for Nominations and the Constitution to then-Judiciary Committee Chairman Lindsey Graham and as Senior Special Counsel to then-Judiciary Committee Chairman Chuck Grassley.  He also practiced antitrust law at several large D.C. law firms and clerked for Justice Clarence Thomas on the U.S. Supreme Court.

Ms. Holyoak currently serves as the Utah Solicitor General.  She previously served as President and General Counsel of Hamilton Lincoln Law Institute, a Washington, D.C.-based public interest firm representing consumers challenging unfair class actions and regulatory overreach. She also previously served as a public interest attorney with the Competitive Enterprise Institute and the Center for Class Action Fairness.  Ms. Holyoak also worked as an associate at a large law firm.