In furtherance of the Biden Administration’s “junk fee” agenda, on Thursday, May 9, 2024, the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau and the U.S. Department of Transportation will host a hearing on airline and credit card rewards programs. CFPB Director Rohit Chopra and Secretary of Transportation Pete Buttigieg will moderate a discussion with the following industry representatives, labor leaders, and consumer advocates:

  1. Scott DeAngelo, Executive Vice President and Chief Marketing Officer, Allegiant Air
  2. Morgan Harper, Director of Policy and Advocacy, American Economic Liberties Project
  3. Andrew Grimm, President and CEO, Apple Federal Credit Union
  4. Sara Nelson, International President, Association of Flight Attendants
  5. Lukas Johnson, Chief Commercial Officer, Breeze Airways
  6. Erin Witte, Director of Consumer Protection, Consumer Federation of America
  7. Robert Patrick Cooper, Senior Vice President and General Counsel, OneUnited Bank

We will attend the joint hearing and blog about it thereafter. … Continue Reading