Today, April 20, the Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation will hold a hearing, “Strengthening the Federal Trade Commission’s Authority to Protect Consumers.”  The four currently-serving FTC Commissioners are scheduled to appear as witnesses.

The hearing will address the FTC’s endangered consumer redress authority, its anti-fraud efforts during the pandemic, and its current tools and capabilities, including $30.4 million in funding for consumer protection matters provided in the American Rescue Plan Act.

The FTC Commissioners are:

  • Rebecca Kelly Slaughter, Acting Chairwoman
  • Noah Phillips
  • Rohit Chopra
  • Christine Wilson