Today, by a vote of 69-28, the full Senate confirmed Lina Khan to serve as FTC Commissioner.

Ms. Khan will fill the FTC seat vacated by former FTC Chairman Joseph Simons.  His remaining term runs through September 2024.   Ms. Khan’s confirmation means the Democrats now hold a 3-2 Democratic majority, with the Democratic Commissioners consisting of Ms. Khan, Rohit Chopra, and Rebecca Slaughter (who current serves as Acting Chairwoman.)

With Ms. Khan confirmed, the White House will presumably seek to move Mr. Chopra’s nomination as CFPB Director forward for a full Senate vote.  Mr. Chopra’s confirmation as CFPB Director would, however, end the Democrats’ 3-2 majority until another Democratic nominee is confirmed to replace Mr. Chopra as FTC Commissioner.